Things we are THANKFUL for….

The kids and I have been playing a game lately. I ask them what they are thankful for and we list several things each morning. The first day, as expected, it was toys and material things. However, I have been playing the game too and have listed some things such as family, health, roof over our heads, ability to create memories as a family, doctors, etc….

So, the kids have caught on. They are listing bigger and better things…not so many “things.” Today, they were thankful for Ross helping to make a blanket fort in the family room so they could read and be quiet so daddy could rest. They were thankful for me coming home (I had a planned visit with several out of town friends and we were either expecting Ross’ treatment to start long ago or in a few more weeks.)!! Lastly, they were thankful for ice cream (baby steps…. lol).

So, I gave Ross his first shot on Thursday evening. By Friday, he had a few bloody noses….but virtually NO OTHER SIDE EFFECTS!! We were both pretty blown away and SO THANKFUL!!! On Friday, I had a planned weekend away. Honestly, my thought was that I had to cancel it. However, when Ross was feeling great…I decided to go!! It was a wonderful get away after all the stress from the week. On Friday night, I literally crashed. Between Pittsburgh and doctors appointments all week for Noelle and Ross…my schedule for the week was to just “get through the day!” When I had nothing scheduled other than fun….I was a little lost and I think I started to really process my week. We had Pulmonology and GI appts in Pittsburgh Children’s on Monday and Tuesday, Noelle had a Neurology appt at Children’s back home on Wednesday morning and then Ross’ appointment to train and start treatment on Thursday.

I felt like I didn’t sleep at all Thursday night. Everytime Ross moved, I just imagined him puking all over me. So, I hopped up everytime the poor guy twitched in his sleep to make sure he was okay. He was fine. By Friday evening, I was exhausted. I was with my girlfriends in a nail salon and kept hearing the Casting Crows song, “I Will Praise You In This Storm.” I am so utterly thankful that I’m healthy and able to take care of everyone. I also kept hearing the Laura Story song, “Blessings.” Because even though things are crazy and chaotic….we are so blessed! Just because life isn’t going as planned….doesn’t mean its going badly. Sometimes it takes a few trials in life to make sure you know whats truly important. I’m thankful for my trials.

By Saturday night, Ross was having fevers and chills. He’s a bit achey all over and is just tired. Luckily, the kids were amazing, went to bed early and were perfect for quiet time to allow for his naps. He barely told me anything and really wanted me to enjoy the time with my girlies. He is amazing…. and I enjoyed my time. Now that I’m back…he’s moving slower, is more tired and is admitting that without small doses of tylenol, the chills and aches are pretty bad. But…if thats as bad as it gets….We are thankful!!

Ross is planning on going to work tomorrow. So, we’ll see! Overall, I’d say that his first few days on the Interferon treatment were not that bad. He is a tough guy.

We are keeping the faith that his side effects will remain minimal and that treatment is being effective! During Week 5, he will have to add another drug, which by our research will be the hardest part of the treatment. Any side effects that he is having will apparently be multiplied. So, we pray that he will continue the minimal side effects throughout the course of treatment.

We are expert prayers and waiters!! 🙂 There is a plan…..we pray, we wait….we hope! 🙂 Thanks again for the continued prayers! We feel them and you have no idea how much they are appreciated!

xoxo,

Stacie 🙂

<a

20130414-230547.jpg

One thought on “Things we are THANKFUL for….

Leave a comment