Somedays….we do the best we can….

Let’s face it….sometimes….I simply suck as a mom! There are moments (even days) that I feel like I’m absolutely super mom. Today does not happen to be one of those days! Today was one of those days I ran around like a chicken with my head cut off! This is the brutal honesty about being a parent and parenting…

Anyone ever thought that they were a much better mom, BEFORE they had kids? I had all these rules and things I would never do with my kids. For instance, I said my kids would hardly ever watch TV. TV rots kids brains and I was determined not to use it as a babysitter. I also was NEVER going to give my kids fast food. I wasn’t going to let them play video games for more than 15 minutes per day. I was going to have them potty trained by the age of 2. They were going to be dressed and looking cute everyday with hair in place and teeth brushed.

Currently, Andon is watching a movie on the iPad while Noelle plays video games (lets just say its been longer than a half hour) and I’m so thankful to have some peace and quiet. Oh, and we stopped and got Happy Meals on the way home today….yup….after they already had lunches at school. What can I say…maybe its a growth spurt, right?! And I can’t forget that I’m pretty sure Andon went to school this morning without brushing his teeth….and we were running so late that he ate breakfast in the car!

I pride myself on giving my kiddos lots of fresh, wholesome and healthy meals…and then bomb occasionally! I know other parents can relate…but this really is not how its suppose to be. I imagined a perfect mom in myself…doing everything right. Yet, as soon as I get stressed or have too much to do…I immediately go to TV, Video games or movies.

I wish things were like they were when I grew up. From the moment I got our of school, we ran outside to play in the neighborhood and my mom wouldn’t see us until dinner. Alas, the world has changed. Don’t I wish I could just ship the kids outside and not worry! Maybe then…their little brains wouldn’t rot with TV!

Oh well! Somedays we just do the best we can! Today will have to be good enough… 🙂 Let’s face it….I’m not the only one, right?!

 

xoxo,

 

Stacie 🙂

3 thoughts on “Somedays….we do the best we can….

  1. I’m sure I have no idea what you are talking about!! 😉
    (and no nasty comments, please, from those who think I am serious— Stacie knows better!!)

Leave a comment